2nd Working Group Meeting of Asian Consortium on Computational Materials Science (ACCMS)

Asian Consortium on Computational Materials Science (ACCMS) will hold its 2nd Working Group Meeting in L.N. Gumilyov Eurasian National University on June 5-7, 2014. Topics covered by present ASSMS-WGM will include (but not limited to) Computational Design of Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage: simulation of electrode/battery materials, hydrogen production and storage, fuel cells, solar cells, etc.

Computational Materials Science based on computer modeling and simulation is playing an increasingly important role in materials science research. The Asian Consortium on Computational Materials Science (ACCMS) was established in 2000 with the purpose of nurturing and promoting computational materials research in Asian countries.

The biennial ACCMS conference series, which is the main conference series of ACCMS, has become an international event for exchanging and archiving knowledge on the development of advanced computational methodology and its applications in materials science and engineering. The previous ACCMS conferences were successfully held in India (Bangalore 2001), Russia (Novosibirsk, 2004), China (Beijing, 2005), Korea (Seoul, 2007), Vietnam (Hanoi, 2009), Singapore (2011), and Thailand (2013). In between the main conferences, there are focused group meetings under the names of ACCMS-VO and ACCMS-WGM organized in order to promote certain emerging areas and to enhance on-going collaborations in order to optimally utilize our resources and manpower. Present working group meetings is the first conference organized in Kazakhstan on such the emerging area of materials simulation for energy application. This meeting is also important since Astana is the host city of the next EXPO-2017 exhibition which main theme is the “Future Energy”.

The list of invited speakers:

  • Yoshiyuki Kawazoe – New Industry Creation Hatchery Center, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Noejung Park – Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Ulsan, Republic of Korea
  • Hiroshi Mizuseki – Korea Institute of Science and Technology (KIST), Seoul, Republic of Korea
  • Kuperman – Hybrid Energy Sources Laboratory, Ariel University, Israel
  • Yuan Ping Feng – Department of Physics, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Seungchul Kim – Korea Institute of Science and Technology
  • Masahiko Hada – Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
  • Yuji Higuchi – Fracture and Reliability Research Institute (FRRI), Sendai, Japan
  • Chin-Hui Yu – National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  • Ying Chen – Department of Nanomechanics, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
  • S. Ranganathan – Department of Materials Engineering, Indian Institute of Science and Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
  • Bangalore, India
  • Zhumabay Bakenov – Nazarbayev University, Institute of Batteries, Astana, Kazakhstan
  • V. R. Belosludov – Nikolaev Institute of Inorganic Chemistry; SB RAS, Novosibirsk, Russia
  • Nurbosyn U. Zhanpeisov – Institute for Excellence in Higher Education & Department of Chemistry, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
  • G.P. Das – Department of Materials Science, Jadavpur, India